Joseph Haydn – oratorio The Seasons


Oriana Kurteshi (soprano)

Juhan Tralla 

Lauri Vasar (basso)

Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra


Conductor Olari Elts


The concert is produced by Eesti Kontsert




On 31 May 2009 we celebrate the 200th anniversary of Haydn’s death.
The Seasons, often called an idyllic oratorio is one of Haydn’s last great works, written towards the end of his creative life. There are three main characters – the old peasant Simon, his daughter Hanne and the young peasant Lukas who are all telling stories about country life in different seasons, inviting us to enjoy the beauty of nature and calling up to be greatful to the Creator. The oratorio abounds in beautiful descriptions of nature and sappy peasant scenes.