Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Great Mass in C minor K 427

Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Tallinn Chamber Orchestra
Yena Choi (soprano)
Maria Listra (soprano)
Heldur-Harry Põlda (tenor)
Alvar Tiisler (bass)
Conductor Tõnu Kaljuste


Mozart’s monumental Mass in C minor is not often performed in Estonia. This is probably due to the high requirements which were set out for the composition by the author in terms of its group of performers. The mass is colourful: a Bach-like choir polyphony alternates with crisp beauty and ecstatic jubilations, with striking opera-like music being confronted by the elegance and grace characteristic of Mozart. The scale of emotions in the piece ranges from grandiose to humble prayers and devoted contemplations.



The concert is produced by Eesti Kontsert
In cooperation with the Tallinn Philharmonic Society


Broadcast by Estonian Classic Radio: Ats Treimaa, Anton Ventsel, Kersti Inno