J. S. Bach
“Christmas Oratorio” BWV 248

Elīna Šimkus (soprano)
Iris Oja (alto)
Nicholas Mulroy (tenor)
Olari Viikholm (bass)

Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir
Tallinn Chamber Orchestra
Conductor Kaspars Putniņš


„Christmas Oratorio“ actually consists of six cantatas by Bach, created in 1734/1735 for various church holidays at Christmas time. The first cantata was dedicated to Christmas Day and then one to the Epiphany. The most common contemporary performance practice is that the first three cantatas are performed during Christmas and the following three on the Epiphany. This time the audience will hear cantatas 1–3.


In cooperation with Eesti Kontsert and Tallinn Philharmonic Society.

Broadcast 21.12 at Estonia Concert Hall.