Daniel Reuss (born 1961) studied with Barend Schuurman at the Rotterdam Conservatory. In 1990, he became director of Cappella Amsterdam, which he turned into a full-time professional ensemble that is now one of the most sought after in the Netherlands.

From 2003 until 2006 he was chief conductor of the RIAS Kammerchor in Berlin, with whom he recorded a number of successful CDs, like Le Vin Herbé (Martin), Solomon (Händel) and Les Noces (Stravinsky). Their CD’s won several awards, like Preis der Deutsche Schallplattenkritik, Echo Award, Midem Classical Award, Diapason d’Or, Choc du Monde de la Musique, Gramophone’s Editor’s Choice.

From the season 2008/2009 he is appointed artistic director and chief conductor of the Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir (EPCC). Reuss and the choir have had success in important European cultural centres and at festivals, including Wiener Konzerthaus, Paisley Choral Festival in Scotland, Schwetzingen Festival in Germany, L’été musical in France etc. He has also commissioned new pieces from Estonian composers (Grigoryeva, Krigul, Kõrvits) and cooperated with other Estonian music groups (the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Tallinn Chamber Orchestra and Corelli Baroque Orchestra).

Daniel Reuss has been invited to conduct chamber ensembles and orchestras throughout Europe. Among these may be mentioned the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, MusikFabrik, Scharoun Ensemble and the Radio Chamber Philharmonic.

In summer 2006, at the invitation of Pierre Boulez, Daniel Reuss teached and conducted at the Lucerne Festival Academy. In February 2007 Reuss made his debut at the English National Opera, with Händel’s Agrippina. In 2008 he directed at De Munt/La Monnaie in Bruxelles, with the Dido & Aeneas-production of stage director Sasha Waltz.

The Diapason d’Or of the year 2009 was awarded to the CD of Cappella Amsterdam (Lux Aeterna) with works of Ligeti and Heppener.

In 2010, he was nominated together with Cappella Amsterdam, the EPCC and the Estonian Philharmonic Orchestra for a Grammy for best choral performance for the recording of Martin’s Golgotha.